Architecture and the Built Environment Lecture Series Starts Sept. 11 with Thom Mayne

The College of Architecture and the Built Environment has invited prominent architects and designers to campus for the Fall Lecture Series.

The College of Architecture and the Built Environment has invited prominent architects and designers to campus for the Fall Lecture Series.

Pritzker Prize-winning architect Thom Mayne, thought leader of the firm Morphosis, will kick off the College of Architecture and the Built Environment’s Fall 2017 Lecture Series on Sept. 11.

“Thom Mayne is design director at one of the most influential and distinguished architecture firms in the United States,” said Barbara Klinkhammer, executive dean of the College, which invites prominent architects and designers to speak on campus each year.

The lectures, which will take place on Thomas Jefferson University’s East Falls campus, are free and open to the University community and the public. The speakers include:

Thom Mayne
Morphosis
Monday, Sept. 11, 7 p.m.
The Jack and Betty Merriam Auditorium, Tuttleman Center

Jenny Wu
Olyer Wu Collaborative
Monday, Sept. 18, 6 p.m.
DEC Forum

Shawn Gehle
R&A Architecture + Design
Monday, Oct. 2, 6 p.m.
DEC Forum

Tom Wiscombe
Tom Wiscombe Architecture
Monday, Oct. 30, 6 p.m.
DEC Forum

Lorcan O’Herlihy
LOHA
Monday, Nov. 13, 6 p.m.
DEC Forum

Other upcoming CABE events this fall include:

“Effortless” Exhibition Opening
Monday, Sept. 25, 6 p.m.
See Gallery, Architecture and Design Center, East Falls

“Merge” Project Opening, DesignPhiladelphia Kick-off Party
Wednesday, Oct. 4, 6-10 p.m.
Dorrance H. Hamilton Building, 1001 Locust St.
Wednesday, Oct. 11, 5-7:30 p.m.
“Merge” Panel Discussion at AIA Center for Architecture, 1218 Arch St.

5th Annual Geodesign Forum
Friday, Oct. 6, 1-6 p.m.
Bluemle Life Sciences Building, 233 S. 10th St.

Public Interest Design Workshop
(Advance Registration Required)
Friday, Oct. 13, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
DEC Forum
Saturday, Oct. 14, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Bluemle Life Sciences Building, 233 S. 10th St.

Posted in University Headlines